Jim Nisbet

Master of hardboiled fiction Jim Nisbet returns to City Lights to celebrate the paperback release of The Price of the Ticket.

Pauley’s done a few bad things in his life. He’s been around the block quite a few times, spending most of his life inside the block. But now, age 52, he’s got an honest job making high-class torture racks and other exquisite playthings for an S&M outfit in downtown San Francisco. His only real problem is he needs a new set of wheels and he’s going to pick one up today, a beat up Ford from one Martin Seam. Sometimes a ticket to Hell only costs $600 . . . nonrefundable, of course.

 

Jim Nisbet is the author of twelve novels and five books of poetry. He has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times, shortlisted for the Hammett Prize, and published in ten languages. Visit his website at: http://noirconeville.com

What has been said about Jim Nisbet’s work:

“Nobody has Nisbet’s distinctive style, humor, and sheer craft . . . One of the finest masters of noir.” —Ken Bruen, author of The Guards

“Jim Nisbet has a voice so original . . . it might remind you of a younger Kurt Vonnegut.” —Chicago Tribune

“In the tradition of Jim Thompson and Damon Runyon, Nisbet is too good to miss.” —San Francisco Chronicle

“Jim Nisbet—whose pen is mightier than a million swords—does it again.” –Michael Connelly

Speaking about The Spider’s Cage:

“An unheralded masterpiece of the noir genre. Everyone who loves Noir should read this brilliant book.” –James Ellroy